Remove a user from TimeTrak

All active users apart from the Administrator user, which is used for support, take up a licence within TimeTrak.

When an employee leaves, they will need to be made inactive in TimeTrak before you are able to add additional / replacement employees to TimeTrak.

Users are not actually deleted from the database for data integrity, they are made ‘inactive’.

Please do not rename a User, as all historical time for the older User will be shown as time and disbursements for the new/renamed User.

This Whitepaper covers setting up new users in TimeTrak.

It is recommended that before you make a user inactive you complete the following:

Run a User Summary Report

Look for future appointments and reassign, if applicable:

Tasks

If Tasks are in use, look at the Tasks for the User and reassign, if applicable or mark as Completed:

Unposted Entries

Before a user can be made inactive, all time / dibsursments they have entered must be “posted”.

Run through the Verification by User reporting process to look for any outstanding items that have not been posted and complete usual business processes to post these entries through.

Once the above has been completed, you can then run through the process to remove / deactivate the User. Note: if the steps above are not completed, you will be prompted with the following message for each uncompleted process (this example is for Appointments):

Steps to Remove/Deactivate User;

  1. From TimeTrak Admin Console, Users & Resources; right click on the User you want to remove / deactivate and choose Delete.
  2. You will receive a prompt to ensure you want to delete the User, choose OK.

All Users that have been removed / deactivated will now appear against the Group Type; ‘Inactive Recourses’ (previous named *Deleted Users).

The Date of Deactivation will be the date you completed the steps above. 

To change this date, locate your User from the Inactive Recourse Group (1&2);

From User select Settings and then change the Date Deactivated accordingly (3&4).

Ideally, the Date Deactivated should be the user's last day of work in order for group productivity reporting to be accurate, refer to the following Tip of the Week; Date Deactivated.

TimeTrak Support

If you have any further questions, please contact the Exosoft team via email: support@timetrak.co.nz or phone NZ: 0800 12 00 99 | AU: 1800 60 80 77

Search blog posts