Controlling Job Visibility within TimeTrak

November 6, 2017 General,Whitepapers,

Introduction

In TimeTrak, there are numerous settings that can be enabled to assist with controlling job visibility across your team.

Settings such as branch, job manager and job status can all be used to assist with job visibility permissions in TimeTrak.

If Clients are visible to the user these can also be filtered to only show those clients that have jobs that meet the users job visibility criteria.

This Whitepaper will cover the Restriction Visibility settings under a user profile and what visibility they can provide users with if enabled.

Some of these settings work in conjunction with an extra TimeTrak setting that will also need to be enabled in your Exo database.

It is important to note that some user types in TimeTrak such as Sub-Contractors have Restrictions associated to their licensing type that override all profile settings.

Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Settings

If a user has job restriction settings enabled against their profile in most cases the user should not be able to see clients they cannot see jobs for.

If this is the case the setting Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Settings should also be enabled against the users profile.

This setting looks at all Job Restriction settings against the profile and only shows clients that fit the same criteria if Show Clients is also enabled against the same profile.

Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Settings

If the Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Setting is enabled and Show Clients is also enabled, under the MYOB Exo tab against the same profile as per below:

The user will be able to see all clients that have jobs that meet their Job Visibility criteria.

Restrict Job Visibility By Active Status

This profile setting is for TimeTrak Professional and TimeTrak Mobile users.

If Restrict Job Visibility By Active Status is not enabled Inactive Jobs will load along with active jobs by default for Mobile users.

It is recommended that this setting is enabled for Mobile users.

Restrict Job Visibility By Active Status

When this profile setting is enabled the Include Inactive option is removed from the jobs panel in TimeTrak Professional as per below.

When this setting is not enabled TimeTrak Professional users are able to tick on Include Inactive in the Jobs panel and review inactive jobs.

In this example, Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Settings is also enabled, as well as Show Clients in the MYOB Exo tab of the users profile.

This prevents users assigned to this profile from being able to see clients that do not have any jobs with active job statuses.

Cancelled and Finished job statuses are not active as per below:

The below client has only jobs with inactive job statuses as per below:

Searching in TimeTrak Professional does not show this client.

Neither does searching in TimeTrak Mobile:

Restrict Job Visibility By User

There are two different methods of Job Restriction by User, both of which require Extra TimeTrak Fields to be enabled in your Exo Database.

These methods apply to both TimeTrak Professional and TimeTrak Mobile users.

  1. If the Extra TimeTrak Field X_TT_RestrictResources is enabled against the job it will check the Job Resource Allocation to see if the TimeTrak users Job Cost Resource is assigned
    If it is then the job will be visible otherwise it will not be visible.
  2. If the Extra TimeTrak field X_TT_RestrictLabour is enabled against the job it will check the Job Resource Allocation to see if the TimeTrak users Job Cost Resource is assigned.
    If the users resource is assigned, the job quote lines will also be checked to ensure one of the users labour codes has been used if both these criteria are meet the job will be visible.

Restrict Job Visibility By User

1. Restrict Resources.

The below extra field will need to be enabled in your Exo database.

If enabled against a job, any users assigned to a TimeTrak Profile with Restrict Job Visibility By User enabled will not be able to view this job in TimeTrak unless their Job Cost Resource is assigned in the Resource Allocations against the job as per below:

2. Restrict Labour.

The below extra field will need to be enabled in your Exo database.

If enabled against a job, any users assigned to a TimeTrak Profile with Restrict Job Visibility By User enabled will not be able to view this job in TimeTrak unless their Job Cost Resource is assigned in the Resource Allocations against the job as per below:

One of the TimeTrak users specified labour codes assigned in users/ resources against the labour codes tab as per below:

Also needs to be a quote line on the job in order for the user to view the job.

Restrict Job Visibility By Group

The restrict Job Visibility by Group will look in the Job_Resource_Allocation to see if the groups belong to it.

This Profile setting applies to both TimeTrak Professional and TimeTrak Mobile users.

Restrict Job Visibility By Group

Against a TimeTrak group a Job Cost resource can be assigned to the group as per below:

A user can belong to numerous groups, in this example Greg belongs to the below groups (Mobile being his default).

Greg is assigned to “Another Profile” which prevents jobs visibility by Group.

This means he is only able to see jobs that have a Resource Allocation against them that matches with a Job Cost Resource set against one of his TimeTrak groups.

For Greg, this means he is only able to see the below four jobs:

Again if Restrict Client Visibility By Job Visibility Settings is enabled and Show clients is enabled Greg is also only able to see the two clients these jobs relate to:

Restrict Job Visibility By Branch

This profile setting Applies to both TimeTrak Mobile and TimeTrak Professional users.

Restrict Job Visibility By Branch will filter the jobs where the branch equals the branch set against the user.

Restrict Job Visibility By Branch

Against a TimeTrak user, the Branch they belong to is set in the Settings Tab as per below:

If the user is assigned to a profile that has Restrict Job Visibility By Branch enabled they will only be able to see jobs that belong to the branch specified against their user in TimeTrak.

See below in TimeTrak Professional, Greg is only able to see jobs that belong to the Auckland Branch. 

The same rule applies in TimeTrak Mobile.

However, if this setting is NOT enabled, see below, the user can see all jobs no matter what branch they belong to.

There is also a My Branch Only Option, when enabled this will filter the job list to only jobs in your branch.

This is a great feature for a user who by default only needs to see jobs that apply to their branch but occasionally requires the ability to see jobs for other branches.

Restrict Job Visibility to Job Manager

This profile setting is now for TimeTrak Mobile and TimeTrak Professional users.

In versions of TimeTrak Prior to 4.0, this profile setting only applied to TimeTrak Mobile users.

If enabled, any users assigned to this profile will only be able to see jobs for which they are the Job Manager.

Restrict Job Visibility to Job Manager

As per below in TimeTrak Professional, when this profile setting is applied Greg is only able to see jobs for which he is the Job Manager.

The same information is available to Greg in TimeTrak Mobile, excluding the jobs with inactive job statuses: